Production Blog

Where I’ve been

Kludgecity has always been a production-driven script — meaning, I started making it because I had a real use for it, and it was easier to make a versatile tool than to model out a city by hand.  Then, the style and requirements for my short film changed, so I had to start the script over from scratch.  So what happens when I abandon my short film for over a year?  Well, I just don’t have any real incentive to keep working.  But there is good news!  I’m restarting the effort soon, and along with it, I’ll be finishing up Kludge as a production tool.   Hopefully in July we’ll start seeing updates again!

4 responses

  1. Awesome! 🙂 I am so looking forward to it!!! 🙂

    Also I would make a small suggestion on what to introduce in the final version of Kludgecity 🙂 If you don’t mind of course, just an idea 🙂

    I think it would be absolutely awesome if we had the ability to bevel the edges.
    So many professional artists do an amazing job with rendering yet they ask themselves “why does this still looks too artificial”, and as most of you know yep, it is because of the perfectly sharp edges that cannot be achieved in reality.

    So adding something like that in the menu (for example -“bevel building edges” option where ALL edges would be selected and beveled, or at least just selected so we can bevel them ourselves) would be beyond awesome. We could then create ultimately realistic cities and use buildings both as a background and for a closeup scenes and walk-throughs.

    May 3, 2012 at 9:38 am

    • This is definitely something I’d like to incorporate, and actually did for a while… But man, you’d be surprised how quickly those extra polygons add up. I’ll probably add a switch in the next version

      May 3, 2012 at 2:13 pm

  2. nicoklaassen

    Nice! 🙂

    May 3, 2012 at 7:15 pm

  3. Ed that is so awesome! Of course the option of switching it on or off would be great, so if someone doesn’t want an insane polycount he can always turn it off.

    Anyway, I am glad you’re working on it! 🙂 Keep a great job and do what you can about it…I know how hard it can get(I used to do a little bit of programming myself)
    People should be aware that programming is darn hard…whether it is with multi-purpose languages or scripting languages…and that programmers aren’t gods that make programs/plugins/games appear at the snap of the fingers 🙂

    May 3, 2012 at 8:52 pm

Leave a Reply

